IIMUN @ CARE, November 9 – 11, 2018


Being Indian at heart and international in mind, CARE International School opened the curtains for the third edition of IIMUN Trichy on November 9th to 11th 2018. This edition was entirely different from the other ones as the organizations changed its nomenclature of IIMUN from Indian International Model United Nations to India’s International Movement to Unite Nations with a motto of “Change is the only constant”. This change involved the introduction of an extra baby step of planting a tree or feeding a person as a part of the SDGs of UN. This year steps were taken to simulate Indian committees for spreading knowledge about the variety in Indian culture.

The three days conference started with a colourful and enriching inaugural ceremony in presence of the chief guest of the evening Prof. Nagaprakasam, motivational speaker, Business Advisor and a versatile & passionate leader; guest of honor, Mr. A. Mayilvagnam the DCP, Crime and Traffic, Trichy; Mr. Prative Chend, CEO, CARE group of institutions and Mrs. Aarthy Nehru, CEO, CARE International School.

The two days of intense debates and deliberations involved wide variety of topics ranging from peacekeeping budget to reproductive rights of women to use of Hindi in the state of Tamil Nadu along with a completely different agenda based on crisis of Sepoy Mutiny. The 220 delegates of various schools were distributed among 7+1 committees of ADMIN, UNW, UNGA, CCC, ILO, TNLA, IAEA and the International Press. This wide exposure of the global scenario packed with public speaking, diplomacy, knowledge and fun was an added advantage for the participant schools and an extra feather to the CARE crown. Appreciating the oratory skills of the Students of the Host School IIMUN provided an opportunity to three of our students- A. Reshma of class 12, Viashnavi Deshpande of lass 11 and Navya Sri of class 11 to Vice Chair the committees of UNW, TNLA and ADMIN respectively. The talents and expertise of long ranging research was appreciated by three prizes along with two verbal mentions (which were earlier best delegate, high commendation and special mention and had changed because of the change in the nomenclature of the organization). We are very proud indeed to mention that our school students bagged 7 prizes in this three event. The prize winners are as follows:

(1)Master Pranav Ramadas, Class XII:  II Prize (ILO)

(2) Master Santhosh,Class XI : II Prize (Admin.)

(3) Master Ratheesh, Class IX :Verbal Mention (Admin.)

(4) Miss Kshetra,  Class XII : III prize (UNW)

(5) Master Sudhan Raj, Class XII: II Prize (CCC)

(6) Miss Chandra Kala, Class XII: Verbal Mention (TNLA) (Muslim League)

(7) Master SuryaVadhani, Class VIII: II Prize (IAEA)

The Big Event ended with flying colours where the CEO of CARE group of Institutions Mr. Prative Chand motivated the students to always take the first step no matter how hard you expect it to be.

Congratulations to all the winners and participants for presenting your views and extensive research on the various topics.